Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > 1wt gear

Red_green_hSeptember 6th, 2019, 7:51 am
New Mexico

New to this forum, hi everyone. I'm not an expert by any stretch. I took up fly fishing as a way to quit smoking. I'm addicted. My rod collection keeps growing. More and more I've been finding myself on these small mountain streams. Places I fish are bushy to wide open meadows. I absolutely love my 2wt 6' rod and 2wt reel set up. Even on some of the larger streams/smaller rivers and ponds and lakes I've been on it's my rod and reel of choice. I've landed some decent fish with it. There is just something about fishing with a more delicate set up that intrigues me. I see Redington has a rod called the Butterstick and they offer it in a 1wt 5'9" rod. I want this rod. I'm having trouble finding a 1wt reel that is in my ideal price range. Do I need a 1wt reel for 1wt line or can I use a 2/3 wt reel? I understand the obstacle of putting heavier wt line on a smaller reel, but the question is can I put lighter wt liner on a larger reel? Or does using 2wt line with a 1wt rod defeat the purpose? As I embrace this lifestyle of fly fishing these are the questions that plague me the most right now.
Ryan Norris
"a day not catching anything is better than a day not fishing at all"
RleePSeptember 6th, 2019, 9:00 am
NW PA - Pennsylvania's Glacial Pothole Wonderland

We have something in common.. The first time I quit smoking (took me 3 tries before it stuck), fly fishing was a part of the equation. I was sitting on a stream bank smoking a cigarette and changing flies. A deerfly buzzed me and I recoiled and swung the cigarette right into the fly line and burned it in half. That cured me of smoking for about a year..