Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > New here.... old otherwise!

BippieNovember 25th, 2009, 9:54 am
Altoona, PA

Will be 51 in '10, married for 32 years, four kids (three married and youngest in 2nd year of college, four grandchildren. Have been fly fishing since I was six and tying flys since I was 10 (my dad was tired of paying $3.00 a dozen and decided I should tie his flys). I worked in printing and construction for a while and for the past 21 years I've been a pastor. Lived in PA my entire life. For many years I tied bulk for shops as well as sold flies on my own, rod building and repair, casting instructing, etc. Have three main hobbies.... fly fishing and tying, building and repairing acoustic instruments, and motorcycles. The fly fishing and motorcycling compete for the same type of weather so I am often conflicted... when I'm on a creek somewhere and hear a bike I want to go ride... when I'm out riding and pass a creek I want to fish.... I've tried counseling myself but I always end up in argument.

When I tied bulk for shops I always took part of my pay in materials (at the dealers cost not the shelf price) so I was able to build up a nice stock pile of materials. I mostly took Metz necks and hooks.... which by the way I can't believe the price of hooks!

Have been on a tying hiatus for about two years (way too busy schedule), this week I cleaned off my bench and got back at it... tied 5 dozen so far this week.

Being an occasional hunter (used to be avid) I procure my own squirrel, rabbit, pheasant, grouse, turkey, and deer tying materials. I also connect with other hunters/trappers in my church and procure more materials and there are several avid hunters in the family.