Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Waterproof Cameras

PESCATOREAugust 3rd, 2016, 5:33 pm
Rancho Cordova, CA

Greetings:

Well, this forum seems to be as close to the subject of cameras as I could find on this site.

I have been considering purchasing a Waterproof Digital Camera that I can use while fishing in a float-tube or on rivers. I am a photographer and I use some of Nikons Professional Models but, have no experience with the consumer models, especially those that are Waterproof.

I have done some research, mostly reading about features, functions and specifications for the Coolpix modes S33, AW100 and the AW130. I am interested in remarks and reviews from those that use any of these models. Always best to consult users, they can provide important points, likes and dislikes.

If you use any of these models, I would like to hear from you.

Regards,

Don
Don

PaulRobertsAugust 3rd, 2016, 6:00 pm
Colorado

I don't know the Nikons you mention. My waterproof float tube camera is akin: an Olympus 1030SW. It was around $400 (all said and done) a while back and is quite functional for stills, esp the wide end of the lens which allows me usable coverage in the cramped quarters of a float tube. What it lacks is lens size -light gathering capabilities- which severely limits it at low light. As we know, light rules.

I don't know what's out there now. But if I were lookin again, I'd certainly be looking at lens size and speed. I recently added two Lumix cameras, a 1" and a micro 4/3rds. But they are not waterproof (and there are no waterproof cases available) so they won't be in the tube with me. There I'll have my Oly and GoPro's.
Jmd123August 3rd, 2016, 6:27 pm
Oscoda, MI