Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Sunglasses sunglasses everywhere...

DkinvaSeptember 17th, 2015, 5:25 am
Posts: 9I realize a topic about sunglasses perhaps fits better in the gear area, but being a newbie I erred on the side of caution. So, polycarbonate or glass? Cheap, midrange, or expensive? Grey, blue, or, copper colored lenses? I understand the concept and importance of using polarized sunglasses while fishing, but what kind do I really need and how much should I spend is the dilemma. I can afford a $300 pair with glass lenses, but is there really that much difference between those and a $90 pair with plastic lenses? I plan to fish larger streams and rivers in the northeast during all four seasons.

WbranchSeptember 17th, 2015, 12:59 pm
York & Starlight PA

I buy my prescription sunglasses from a local Sam's Club for $100. I have read that the bronze color lens is best for fishing so that is what I buy. Why spend more for a pair of Maui Jims, Orvis, or some other brand as the quality of the lens is the same all you are paying for is someone's name.

I chose the polycarbonate lens material because it is lighter than glass and in more scratch resistant than just plain plastic. Also I believe it is shatterproof.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
Kschaefer3September 17th, 2015, 2:44 pm
St. Paul, MN

I recently bought a pair of Suncloud sunglasses. The pair I got is $60, and they are made by Smith Optics, if I am not mistaken. I think they are great and will almost certainly get another pair if something happens to my currents pair. I don't notice the difference in optical quality between them and the $200+ pair of Costas my friend wears.
DkinvaSeptember 17th, 2015, 6:43 pm