Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Correct hatch time of year Hydropsyche slossonae?

This topic is about the Caddisfly Species Hydropsyche slossonae.

The Discussion

AndyVAugust 26th, 2022, 3:05 am
Twin Cities

I've seen hatch charts (e.g. DNR hatch chart for SE MN) stating mid-May til the end of July vs June (from this site). Can anyone confirm?
MartinlfAugust 27th, 2022, 8:10 pm
Palmyra PA

Possibly, but not me. Many caddis emergences seem to me much less well known, and possibly less predictable than most mayflies. Let's see if Roger or Konchu notice this post.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
TaxonAugust 28th, 2022, 12:54 pm
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Andy-

Although I have no personal experience with emergence timing of mid-western caddisflies, Gary LaFontaine certainly did. In his classic book CADDISFLIES, on page 180, he lists Hydropsyche slossonae as having significant emergence on Woods Creek - Wisconsin (Florence County) from ~MAY 10 through ~AUGUST 20. Hope this helps answer the question you posed. :-)
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
WiflyfisherSeptember 3rd, 2022, 7:21 pm
Wisconsin

Hatch charts are all somewhat speculative, even my own for NW Wisconsin. When you try to cover a region no two rivers are the same. Then throw in climate changes and the fact some years are vastly different temperature and precipitation wise versus other years.

Personally, I would not compare Wood Creek in northern Florence County to any stream in the southern Driftless region, In the defense of Roger, he would not know that since he is out West. Gary LaFontaine did not do all his own research across the country; he did have helpers he relied on.