Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Time for some light-hearted Advice

BaronJune 27th, 2019, 6:59 pm
Pennsylvania

I was reading some posts on another site earlier this week. I read someones little saying beneath their signature and it said "I tried to think but nothing happened". This was fortuitous and here is what happened. Some Chinese 6wt Fly line arrived and I didn't know what to think of it as I have zero experience with any fly line but the price was right so the order was placed. I went online to see what others had to say about quality concerns regarding these foreign supplies. My oh my we battered the quality up and down and spewed all kinds of comments maligning the Chinese products up and down. Finally the day came and the new Chinese fly line was installed on an inexpensive fly reel and sure enough the line was just plain junk. Out on the water it couldn't cast my #18 nymph, 1/16 split shot and indicator 20'. Anger came over me, why did I fall for the old "what can go wrong with cheap stuff trick"? Well I bit my lip and shelved it for a couple days. Today I watched some famous old guy from Penn State say that he uses a double tapered line. That is when it dawned on me; my cheapo line was WF. Are you thinking what I'm thinking? Uh Huh!
I had installed it backwards and of course I was lucky to make twenty'.
That's my story.
Baron
TaxonJune 28th, 2019, 9:19 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Baron-

Interesting. So, how far were you able to cast the line once you had properly reinstalled it on your reel?
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
BaronJune 28th, 2019, 12:51 pm
Pennsylvania