Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Need some advice

NodakflyerJanuary 7th, 2019, 2:14 pm
Posts: 2Hey guys and gals. I'm somewhat new to fly fishing, had a rod in highschool and tied my own patterns and whatnot. I'm looking for a solid rod combo that I can get back in the groove with. Also planning a trip to Iceland in June.
WbranchJanuary 7th, 2019, 5:13 pm
York & Starlight PA

We need more data. What species are you planning on fishing for the most? Trout, bass, Atlantic salmon, sea trout? How long a rod would you like to have? For most freshwater fishing you really can't go wrong with a 8' 6" or 9" #6 fly rod. When you buy the reel I would suggest buying an extra spool and put a weight forward #5 on that spool so you can go one line size lighter with the #6 rod and use smaller dries and nymphs and get a lighter, less conspicuous, presentation with the lighter line.

Orvis makes a very nice combo called the "Encounter". It comes with a nice crisp action rod, a nice large arbor reel, line and backing. I saw a 9' #4 Encounter on Saturday at Bass Pro and it is a very nice backup rod, or a first rod, for a newcomer to fly fishing. It is a 4 piece rod and comes with a cloth sack and hard case. It was on sale for $135. It usually lists for $170.00.

Here is a link to that rod on the Orvis web site;

https://www.orvis.com/p/encounter-5-weight-9-fly-rod-outfit/8P43?item_code=8P435363&adv=127748&cm_mmc=plas-_-FlyFishing-_-8P43-_-127748&msclkid=6d04337b1d5a1c78c5a96f4f1a0d76af&utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=Orvis_Shopping_PLA-US_Brand&utm_term=4577816662829550&utm_content=Fly%20Fishing%20TM
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
NodakflyerJanuary 8th, 2019, 8:33 am
Posts: 2Thanks for the reply. Mainly targeting pond stocked rainbows, panfish, and spring walleyes in the big lake. I had my doubts whether or not a #6 would be a suitable weight, but I would like around a 9 or so footer.