Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Large calves and thighs. HIP WADERS DONT FIT

SumoLumoDecember 31st, 2018, 8:58 pm
Dallastown Pa

Hi. Newbie here. I searched forum and didnt see any posts about this. If there are i am sorry. I have 32" thighs/quads without jeans on and 22" calves. I can NOT find a pair of hip waders to fit. Any suggestions. PLEASE HELP. I have reached out to many sellers online with no success. I plan on hiking thru brush as well. Most streams will not be past knee high. Thanks in advance.
WbranchJanuary 1st, 2019, 3:21 pm
York & Starlight PA

Cut back on the squats and other free weights for a year or two.

Seriously hip boots are often more restrictive than waist of chest waders. You should consider breathable waist waders. I think the calf area will offer more room for you to feel comfortable. The cost for a decent pair is about $100. But then you also need a pair of wading shoes.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
IasgairJanuary 1st, 2019, 7:31 pm
Colorado

Matt is right.

I did see this on the general discussion section and mentioned Dan Baily. I also posted a site with many brands you can look at.

But even with chest waders, you're going to have to find a brand where the calf area has plenty of room. They are not all alike. For instance, Caddis chest waders have a smaller calf area. But they also have hip waders. So if you haven't looked at those, contact them and ask about sizing.

WbranchJanuary 2nd, 2019, 12:58 pm
York & Starlight PA