Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Realism or Impressionism?

Summer_dougFebruary 8th, 2018, 3:38 am
Detroit, MI

Hello all,

I am new to tying flies, but I am quickly discovering its addictive qualities. With two young ones, I only find time to tie one or two at a time in between naps or after bedtime (at that point I'm usually too exhausted to tie!).

Anyways, I was wondering if I could start a debate in the hopes of stealing some of your knowledge. If you had to pick tying realistic flies or those that are more impressionistic, which would you prefer to tie? I understand situations dictate these choices, but I'm interested nonetheless.

Also, if forced to rank by importance the qualities of flies, where would proportion, profile, color, overall size, or other characteristics fall in your estimation?

Doug
From Michigan
TaxonFebruary 8th, 2018, 4:01 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Doug-

The answer to your question depends on what you intend to do with the flies you tie. If your intent is to fish with them, then impressionist is certainly the way to go.
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
PaulRobertsFebruary 8th, 2018, 6:48 am
Colorado

I love Roger's answer. There's a lot underneath that.

I've written quite a bit on this on here. Wish I had the time to go back and dig them up. I suppose a number of my posts on tying address this at some level. Nearly all my own ties are self-designed. I'm not afraid of those fish.

In short, flies do not look, or maybe more importantly, behave, the same to the fish as they do to us. If you can give the appropriate impression to the fish, and add some nifty eye-candy realism, great! Best of both worlds.