Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Dry Fly Hackle

Kschaefer3January 23rd, 2015, 2:20 pm
St. Paul, MN

I called my local shop and they finally got some dry fly hackle in. Since I am new to tying dries, I don't think I want to spend $60 on a full cape. I am thinking about getting a half cape in two different colors. Unfortunately grizzly was back ordered, so I'm thinking brown and medium or dark dun.

Does anyone tie with Whiting Bronze? Is the quality typically good? I am thinking I want capes as opposed to saddle for the range of sizes. The blog, "Fly Fish Food", did a nice comparison of hackle and they stated that a Whiting Bronze cape has feathers that will tie down to a 26. Obviously every cape is different, but that is the type of versatility I am looking for. Let me know if I'm way off base here.

I know I am looking for nice stiff barbules, even barbule length and barbules that aren't mini propellers (thanks for that one, Kurt!). Is there anything else that is very important when selecting fry fly hackle?

I appreciate any help! Hopefully I'll have some pictures I can post soon after getting it.
WbranchJanuary 23rd, 2015, 5:26 pm
York & Starlight PA

"Does anyone tie with Whiting Bronze? Is the quality typically good?"

Kyle, I tie more dries than anything else and in my opinion Whiting bronze is not going to tie to #26 and anyone who is telling you that is not being entirely truthful. I only buy saddles and only Whiting Silver. When Hoffman was still selling hackle I bought #1 and #2 half saddles. I would never, under any circumstances, buy a dry fly neck or saddle sight unseen. Sometimes graders mess up and you can find a lot of #1 feathers on a #2 saddle.