Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Tannin-Stained Little River

FisherOfMenJanuary 2nd, 2012, 10:31 pm
NY

I fish in Little River, NY plenty during the year. What makes this trout flow different is the large amount of tannin in the water, making it very dark in all but the brightest sunlight. I can't see bottom in more than 1 1/2 ft. even in full sun. I have several questions: Does the tannin inhibit the trout's vision as well? So can I be a little less sneaky?
Also, I've only caught two browns fly fishing there maybe ten or fifteen days this summer. I'm a beginner, but is it possible there just aren't but a few trout in a 1/2 mile stretch of river? I never see trout other than this same big brown feeding on the top when the Mayfly hatch is on. Any tips for dark water?

I'm just beginning, so anything will help - thanks!
"Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught." -Author Unknown

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. -Edmund Burke
StrmanglrJanuary 4th, 2012, 4:23 pm
My best advice would be watch your step! Dark water and not being able to see the bottom makes me an incredibly slow wader.

I would say vibration and sighting are two of the biggest indicators to a fish to be scared. As far as the fish seeing you less, I would personally think yes to a point. However, you are basically a big tree moving around fish. How much does the fish need to see to get spooked?

Have you caught any fish other than trout? If there is a big one feeding then the stream is more than likely getting carryover from year to year from planted fish or there is natural reproduction going on. Either way the "big one" is a good sign.
PaulRobertsJanuary 4th, 2012, 6:35 pm
Colorado

Talk to your DEC biologist. I've found them very willing to share info.