Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > The best trout water, Page 2

TrtklrJuly 14th, 2008, 8:24 am
Banned
Michigan

Water is our most valuable resource,and I am all in favor of keeping our water clean. Did you all know that the waters in Michigan have gotten cleaner over the last 40 years? Did you also know that as a result of cleaner water on the Au Sauble that fish size has dropped? DNR is looking at ways of getting more nutrients into the river system.
I have seen nothing more beautiful than the sunrise on a cold stream.
PRohlfsenJuly 16th, 2008, 10:44 am
Chaska, Minnesota

Hi Everyone! I am new to TroutNut and what a great article to start with.

I thought just for fun I would bring up Minnesota. No, its not the "best trout water" but I have had some great experiences here. My favorite place to go is a little stream in the Southwest of Minnesota in Beaver Creek valley state park. (what a load off to finally share it). I am still a very novice fly-fisherman but my passion for it will drive me to be better someday.

Anyways! Beaver Creek Valley State park is centered on a little spring coming out of a rock wall and you have to walk to at least an hour to get to trout water. The Valley is quaint and beautiful, the water is crisp and untouched, the the surroundings are beautiful.

Just thought I would share where my heart lies at the moment. Can't wait to go back

-Patrick
Patrick
http://dimensionalglass.blogspot.com

Be the fly, Be the fly...beeeeeee the fllyyy.
Shawnny3July 16th, 2008, 12:18 pm
Pleasant Gap, PA

you have to walk to at least an hour to get to trout water

This precludes about 98% of the flyfishing community from taking your spot - even if it's no longer a secret, your fishing is pretty safe.

Welcome to the forum, Patrick.

-Shawn