Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Looking for winter Wisconsin trout fishing tips

FreepowFebruary 28th, 2008, 8:39 pm
menomonie, WI

I am eagerly counting down the hours to the Wisconsin early trout season. I am still a fly fishing rookie (although I am in my 2nd season) so I was wondering if anyone had any good inside tips for winter trout fishing (especially for Wisconsin). I am aware of tips such as:

1. Fish deep...they tend to congregate in deep slower moving waters
2. Fish in the sun spots...when the water warms up (specifically over 38 degrees and I am not sure where I got this number from) the fish become more active.
3. Nymphs and streamers tend to be more suggested than dry flies. Although I will definitely try dry flies because I can't help but hope for a surface hit.
4. Dress and prepare properly so as not to forget things and ruin your day. Use your head...its cold out.
5. Try not to take the fish out of the water if its below freezing...could damage their gills.

So if anyone has anything to add that is not on this list...please do. Thanks.
"I fish...because I suspect that men are going along this way for the last time, and I for one don't want to waste the trip..."
TroutnutFebruary 28th, 2008, 10:41 pm
Administrator
Bellevue, WA

If you know the good holes, really pound them with nymphs. The fish might be willing to take, but not willing to move very far to do it. You can make a lot of seemingly identical casts before the fly goes right by the big one's nose just right.
Jason Neuswanger, Ph.D.
Troutnut and salmonid ecologist
MartinlfFebruary 29th, 2008, 5:10 am
Palmyra PA