User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Caucci's Compara-Nymph Step by Step

NEMattJuly 7th, 2014, 6:35 pm
New Hampshire

Hi,

Newbie here.

After reading Caucci's Hatches II, I've followed the step by step tying instructions for the compare-dun and the compare-emergers. I'd like to tie the compare-nymph next but he does't include SBS instructions for it. I can fumble through one from pictures but I'd like to know the proper way. Could anyone provide a link for me to follow? I would certainly appreciate it.

Also, thanks for all the good info sharing here - very helpful.

Matt
NEMattJuly 7th, 2014, 6:40 pm
New Hampshire

I meant 'compara' - auto spell check has killed me more than once.
OldredbarnJuly 8th, 2014, 1:25 pm
Novi, MI

Not a big deal...A rather simple, "guide-fly", type of fly.

Appropriate size hook for mayfly you are trying to imitate...Some use dry fly hook, some wet.

Wind thread on hook to rear of shank and dub a small bit of dubbing to facilitate the split tail...Tie in your stiff tailing fibers, either spade hackle or paint brush like tailing material and arrange so you have equal amounts on either side of dubbed ball...Wind thread tight up against this ball and they will split forming a nice v off the back of the hook.

Dub your tapered body a hook eye or two back from the eye.

Stack a small clump of appropriate color deer hair for wing...This is an emerger and the length of wing is open to debate, but start with wing tips about halfway back over the body...Wrap right up and against where the dubbing stopped.

Lift the butt ends up and tie in front of them, not unlike some tie an elk hair caddis, and whip finish. Then snip the butts at an angle with the wing...Again...Like an elk hair caddis.