Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Ephemeroptera

PghFlyApril 7th, 2012, 9:35 am
Murrysville, PA (just outside Pittsburgh)

While reading about the hatching process the statement that, "The dun wriggles out onto the surface, where its wings fill with fluid hydraulically and allow it to take flight. (In contrast to the common myth of mayflies needing time to "dry their wings,"" jumped out at me (http://www.troutnut.com/hatch/4/Insect-Ephemeroptera-Mayflies).

I am new to fly fishing this year and have just been soaking up information. I am curious if anyone has any other references to this. Most everything else I see talks about them "drying" their wings and/or simply resting to build up the strength needed for flight.

LastchanceApril 7th, 2012, 10:49 am
Portage, PA

I was always taught they are drying their wings, too. We need a further explanation from one of these experts.
EntomanApril 7th, 2012, 1:33 pm
Northern CA & ID

Hi Guys,

As an adult, the mayfly's only mission is a two fold one; to escape its aquatic environment, and to reproduce. Some complete their adult cycle in a few hours, some need a few days or more. Their mouth parts are totally atrophied and they take in no nourishment. Their glistening wings and shiny bodies are designed for the hovering dance of their aerial mating behavior, not escaping predators or chasing down food as with other insects. The males have further adapted to this purpose with the addition of long forelegs to assist in balance and gripping of the females as they copulate. The problem is these morphological adaptions would make it very difficult to emerge mid-stream and they never would have occurred if not for the mayfly's unique two stage adult development. This allowed them to adapt very well to the two different needs of the adult stages.