> > Caddis sedge

FredHOctober 30th, 2010, 6:32 pm
Lake Charles , Louisiana

http://www.realisticflytying.net
TaxonOctober 30th, 2010, 8:04 pm
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Fred-

Nice looking fly. You may have meant to say either caddis pupa or sedge pupa, but not caddis sedge, as that's a bit redundant. Generally speaking, trichoptera are referred to as sedge north of the Canada/USA border, and as caddis south of that border. Same insect, different common name.
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
FredHOctober 31st, 2010, 8:29 am
Lake Charles , Louisiana

Thanks Roger . I didn't even know Louisiana had species of caddis until last year when I imported some rainbows. I noticed the trout rissing and found thru the next few months that we not only have caddis , but mayflys ,midges and a rather large crane fly hatch. I have been studying the life cycles of these and other aquatic insects as they pertain to fishing. I guess it would help now if I studied their scientific and common names.

Fred
http://www.realisticflytying.net
TaxonOctober 31st, 2010, 10:10 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Fred-

Way to go. Louisiana has ~33 mayfly species, ~103 caddisfly species, and ~25 stonefly species.

Mayflies may (or may not) have common names. If they do, will be at the genus and/or species level, and are likely to have been assigned by flyfishers, and have eventually come into common usage, often on a regional basis. As a result, there will often be multiple different names for the same genus or species, and the same common name used for multiple genera and/or species

Caddisflies popular with flyfishers have been assigned common names at the genus level, primarily by Gary LaFontaine in his great book, Caddisflies.