Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Here's two I could use some help with from East Tennessee!

BrettHRomer has attached these 6 pictures to aid in identification. The message is below.
View Full SizeView Full Size (1.6X larger)
Shown Full Size
View Full SizeView Full Size (1.5X larger)
View Full SizeView Full Size (2.2X larger)
Shown Full Size
Shown Full Size
BrettHRomerMay 7th, 2008, 6:12 am
Posts: 2Hey guys...wanted to say we've had an excellent couple of weeks fishing here in good ol East Tennessee! I've been picking apart the Watauga River for the past 6 months trying to figure out the on slaught of hatches that river seems to have! I really wanted to fish the caddis hatch this year but seemed to miss out.

The other day while on the water we watched sporadic hatches of what appeared to be sulphurs coming off. Sizes ranging from about a 14 to a size 16 absolutely no smaller! I managed to snap a picture of one of these guys, but only after mashing his/her wing! I spent around 4 hours looking through Jason's site only coming up with the little yellow quill. I'm really confused guys. It has huge black eyes....ah forget it here's the pictures! This one would fit nicely on a size 14 TMC 100!

That veiny wing and the heavily segmented body is what's telling me it's not a sulphur!

I also managed to snap a few other pictures of some other specimans for you and a pic of a hydro for you all to marval at!

Here's that caddis!

GONZOMay 7th, 2008, 8:41 am
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

Brett,

The yellow mayfly dun is a male heptageniid, the nymph is an Ephemerella nymph (probably one of the "sulphurs"), and the caddisfly pupa appears to be a hydropsychid.

PS--Welcome to the site!
JOHNWMay 7th, 2008, 3:24 pm
Chambersburg, PA

Brett,
Welcome!
It's good to hear the Watauga is doing so well insect wise. I'm curious as to what general area of the river your samples are from?