Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > One of life's little treasures

KroilMarch 7th, 2008, 11:20 am
Coastal NJ

I have been fishing the rivers up there for 30 years. The mainstem has always been my favorite. I took my 13 year old son last spring and he caught his first brown, and then two more on a grannom and a #16 dark hendrickson.
I have been waiting for that moment since he was born.
He wore all of my old gear that has been in storage. Remember that "state of the art" stuff from the 80's....Flyweight waders, Weinbrenner wading shoes, Marathon rainjackets, etc.
He looked like he had just jumped out of a Cabelas catalog from 1983.

This is what "Terminal Fish Disease" looks like at an early age. It is caused by being into your backing on a mainstem fish way too early in the game.

When I found the skull in the woods, the first thing I did was call the police. But then I got curious about it. I picked it up, and started wondering who this person was, and why he had deer horns. - Jack Handey

Shawnny3March 9th, 2008, 7:56 am
Pleasant Gap, PA

Awesome. I'm worried I'll take my boy too early and drown him in a riffle. Must... remember... safety...

-Shawn
Jewelry-Quality Artistic Salmon Flies, by Shawn Davis
www.davisflydesigns.com
SofthackleMarch 9th, 2008, 9:10 am
Site Editor
Wellsville, NY

There's nothing like passing it on.

Mark
"I have the highest respect for the skilled wet-fly fisherman, as he has mastered an art of very great difficulty." Edward R. Hewitt

Flymphs, Soft-hackles and Spiders: http://www.troutnut.com/libstudio/FS&S/index.html
WbranchMarch 13th, 2008, 4:49 am
York & Starlight PA

Kroil,