Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > fly tying tools, Page 2

WbranchDecember 16th, 2007, 8:34 am
York & Starlight PA

Double post.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
WbranchDecember 16th, 2007, 8:37 am
York & Starlight PA

I see there have already been many replies with lots of good information. I've been tying for about fifty two years and for more than half of those years used a really old fashioned Thompsom vise that didn't even have a cam lever to lock the jaws. It had a large threaded knob at the back of the vise that I turned to close and tighten the jaws.

If you want to tie many different sizes of flies and especially large streamers and salt water hook sizes I would recommnend the Regal Vise. It is really a "work horse" and can take all sorts of abuse and it still hooks hooks tighter than any vise that I'm familar with (although there may be others that hold tightly too)

The rear action cam opened the jaws easily and once the hook is properly seated in the jaws it will not move. I used the standard, no rotating Regal for about fifteen years and still use it for Clouser minnows and all of my salt water patterns.

For finesse and simplicity I like the HMG standard model with the clamp on feature. I never liked the vises with the heavy base that just sit on the table by the virtue of their heavy base. That may be fine for trout flies but when I am using 3/0 thread and trying to lash down a hair wing on a streamer I don't want the vise to be falling over on it's nose.

I use the standard jaws for all of my tying but that is because I'm very frugal and just won't pay the extra money to buy a set of midge jaws. But I can see over the years of using one set of jaws for hooks from # 2 - # 22 my HMG jaws are sprung and don't hold small hooks as well as they did fifteen years ago.