Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > New Fly Fishing Club @ SUNY ESF

Jjlyon01October 16th, 2007, 5:02 pm
SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

Hi my name is Jamie Lyons Son of Todd Lyons (Flyfisher066). I go to SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry and I'm studying Conservation Biology in hopes to be a Fisheries Conservation Biologist. I have just started a fly fishing club at my school to teach those the art and promote it where ever possible. I have plans of having casting and tying classes, speakers and trips, and a lot of community service. If anyone has any ideas or contributions they would like to give me it would be much appreciated because I could use help getting the TroutBums:Flyfishers of Syracuse on it's feet. Thank you.
"I now walk into the wild"
TroutnutOctober 17th, 2007, 1:07 am
Administrator
Bellevue, WA

Good luck with it. :) You're in a good area and there are lots of people on this site from around there -- Ithaca, Cortland, etc. I just moved away from Ithaca in June.
Jason Neuswanger, Ph.D.
Troutnut and salmonid ecologist
Shawnny3October 17th, 2007, 3:49 pm
Pleasant Gap, PA

Welcome, Jamie. I am from Ithaca originally and actually almost went to SUNY ES&F at Syracuse (a mouthful, to be sure) about 15 years ago for Paper Science. Starting a new club is ambitious - I've so far resisted the urge to start one at the high school I teach at because I just don't have the time. Good luck to you.

-Shawn
Jewelry-Quality Artistic Salmon Flies, by Shawn Davis
www.davisflydesigns.com
Flyfisher06October 17th, 2007, 5:40 pm
argyle ny near saratoga

Hey Jamie, glad you decided to join us here. You will surely find alot of good advice here and alot of interesting writings.It's also a great place for a dad to keep in touch with his son.Congratulations and good luck with the club! Dad
IF I am not flyfishing or bird hunting I must be doing something bad like working !!