Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Short Stuff

BaronJune 9th, 2019, 7:16 am
Pennsylvania

I am new to fly fishing....so new that not even the fish have heard of me yet.
I currently fish some tight areas and hope to get even tighter as the larger streams warm. I'm using a single piece 4 1/2' spinning setup.
I have always admired fly fishing from a distance and there will be allot to learn to get up to speed. My used ebay fly combos arrive next week and will be allot of fun to set-up.
I am wondering if anyone could discuss the advantages of using short fly rods for brushy creeks. So far, in PA, most of the people I've met have said to use a long pole Tenkara style. On the other hand I've seen some Brittish fishermen use 5-6' rods.
Would someone with experience help me understand the nuances of short vs long fly rods in brushy areas?
Baron
AdirmanJune 9th, 2019, 12:59 pm
Monticello, NY

Short fly rods are useful for mountain streams and brooks woth a lot of thick bushes streamside for short casts, usually 15’ and less; In fact, a lot of the casts would be bow and arrow type casts. Another advantage logistically is when walking along the bank with thick brush, a shorter rod is easier simply to maneuver thru the tangles. Longer rods are always getting hung up it seems . Hope this helps!

David
WbranchJune 9th, 2019, 1:20 pm
York & Starlight PA

Davis has offered all the information I would have provided. A 5' or 6' fly rod is going to be much easier to travel through the brush with and fish than a longer 8' - 9' rod.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
BaronJune 9th, 2019, 6:19 pm
Pennsylvania

Thanks for the comments. If I were purchase one for casts under 25’ and for fish less than one pound and for use in brushy areas how should it be rigged? What weights? I’m thinking 2/3 rod and reel with 3 line? Light action?
Baron
WbranchJune 9th, 2019, 6:28 pm
York & Starlight PA