Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > How to stop guides from freezing constantly while fishing up north???

HateSnagsJanuary 5th, 2016, 8:00 pm
Chagrin Falls, OH

Hello everyone. I recently moved to Ohio for work and have taken up the awesome task of steelhead fishing. I fish mainly in the Rocky River as well South Chagrin Reservoir. I cannot seem to find a reasonable way to keep my guides from freezing, average temp fishing lately has been around 20 degrees. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Also, maybe a dumb question but should I be using a Strike Indicator while fishing streamers? I'm a bit of a newbie so bare with me. Thanks
-Jay
WbranchJanuary 5th, 2016, 10:04 pm
York & Starlight PA

Yes, when the daily temperatures are around 20 degrees you can prevent the guides from icing up by sitting in front of the fly tying vise while tying a couple of dozen sucker spawn while sipping a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows.

There are no dumb questions only dumb answers. While most fly fishermen might fish streamers without an indicator for trout I have often, over the last few years, fished small streamers under a float for steelhead. Small emerald shiners are very common in the streams and creeks entering Lake Erie. I have seen large pods of shiners in the creeks and know the steelhead do target them as they are an easy food source. I have caught more steelhead dead drifting an emerald shiner under an indicator than I have casting and strip retrieving a small streamer.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
MartinlfJanuary 6th, 2016, 12:12 am
Palmyra PA

I've heard that putting Burt's Bees lip balm on the guides can help. Google "prevent rod guides from freezing" or similar phrases for other home remedies.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
PaulRobertsJanuary 6th, 2016, 9:52 am
Colorado