Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > trout fishing for nubees

AnarMay 6th, 2013, 5:15 pm
Toronto

Hey there,

I am a beginner fisherman who lives in Toronto ON, and I have been trying to catch trout for several months already but nothing. I have some questions, I would really appreciate if you could give me solid advice on catching a trout.

I have tried fishing trout with: 6 lb. main line and 4 lb. leader, tried roe eggs, garlic eggs power bait, artificial garlic flavour pink worm, marsh mellows.
I have tried in the afternoon, close to evening, also at night once.
I tried setup: bobber, size 3 split shots approx. 4-5 inch, and then size 14 hook.

What am I doing wrong ? Thank you.
OldredbarnMay 6th, 2013, 9:06 pm
Novi, MI

What am I doing wrong ? Thank you.

Maybe your trout are vegetarians...How about bug-e-tarians...All kidding aside, if you are serious, look into a fly fishing site...;)

Spence
"Even when my best efforts fail it's a satisfying challenge, and that, after all, is the essence of fly fishing." -Chauncy Lively

"Envy not the man who lives beside the river, but the man the river flows through." Joseph T Heywood
OldredbarnMay 7th, 2013, 4:31 pm
Novi, MI

Mack...You do understand irony, no? :) I was just poking a little. It's my job on this site...to play the little snarly terrier nipping around the ankles of the hardware and bait casting guys. :)

"Even when my best efforts fail it's a satisfying challenge, and that, after all, is the essence of fly fishing." -Chauncy Lively

"Envy not the man who lives beside the river, but the man the river flows through." Joseph T Heywood
SayfuMay 7th, 2013, 5:16 pm
Posts: 560Oldredbarn. I admire that quality in a man. You are a fantastic nipper.
FalsiflyMay 7th, 2013, 7:10 pm
Hayward, WI.

Anar, that is one impressive carp. I would gladly trade a dozen 20 in.+ trout caught on a spinner bait for one of those on a fly.