Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Tiger Trout

Shawnny3August 3rd, 2010, 6:57 pm
Pleasant Gap, PA

Tonight I caught a 10-inch tiger trout, my first ever, on Spring Creek just downstream of Bellefonte. Among the several hundred fish I've caught or observed caught in that area, I've never seen a brook trout, but I have limited experience in that stretch of water. Most of my experience on Spring is quite a bit upstream of that, but it has been my home stream for 7 years and I have never caught or seen a brookie in it. I have a few ideas as to how the tiger trout could have gotten there, but I'd like to hear from others first who may have more experience in that area than I do.

By the way, Flatstick was with me and immediately confirmed the I.D. on the fish (I knew what it was when it was still 10 feet away from me - it was that obvious). He had a camera on his phone, but as he fumbled for it in his vest I placed the fish back in the water, where it unfortunately came off my line. But we are both certain of the I.D., in case anyone is inclined to doubt it.

-Shawn
Jewelry-Quality Artistic Salmon Flies, by Shawn Davis
www.davisflydesigns.com
GONZOAugust 3rd, 2010, 10:43 pm
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

I have a few ideas as to how the tiger trout could have gotten there, but I'd like to hear from others first who may have more experience in that area than I do.

Shawn, it might have been an escapee from the hatchery at Bellefonte. If they are not raising any tigers, then it probably resulted from an escaped male brookie fertilizing the eggs of a female brown.
Shawnny3August 4th, 2010, 6:28 am
Pleasant Gap, PA