Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Fly Arsenal questions...

MT319May 12th, 2010, 3:17 pm
NY

I’m a college student and don’t have loads to invest in fly tackle…and for non-monetary reasons I also only fish dries and streamers (no nymphs, no wets). I feel like casting skill and presentation is significantly more important than color and spend my focus on that aspect as opposed to worrying about color variance between flies….the questions I have are 1.) will I really not get takes on an 18 adams para when trout are on 18 sulphers/bwo’s to the degree that superior casting skill/presentation as well as correct fly size and shape cannot catch the same 3 out of 8 risers that the decent skilled angler using correct fly size, shape, and color will catch in the same situation on the same average pressured eastern river/stream? 2.) Is there any legitimate variance in Adams productivity for matching lighter colored mayflies (Cahill, Sulpher, female Trico etc…) vs. darker colored mayflies (BWO, male Trico etc…)? 3.) Do either Catskill style or Comparadun styles of dries out-produce or under-produce parachute styles and out of the three styles which is currently the most used?
SofthackleMay 12th, 2010, 7:16 pm
Site Editor
Wellsville, NY

Wow! A lot of questions, MT. First, I think it is a mistake you are ignoring nymphs and wets, especially the wets of the wingless type, but others might have a different opinion. Just remember,trout (fish) do most of their feeding, underwater.

There are many ideas regarding presentation and matching the hatch. Your prevalent question pertains to that. I will give you my take, and you will get many more, I'm sure. It'll be your job to sort it all out.