Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > live flies

AcemajorDecember 6th, 2009, 8:49 pm
olympia washington

hi every one, i am just getting into fly fishing, havnt been yet though. i am just reading up on rods,reels and flies. i was wondering if it is possible to tie a live insect to a hook and use it as a fly. it sounds possible enough but wanted to know if you really could and if so, how. any other advice you want to give me would also be greatly apprecitated. thank you.
TaxonDecember 7th, 2009, 2:58 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hello Freeman-

Is it possible to tie a a live insect to a hook and use it as a fly?

Yes, it is possible, but would certainly not be fly fishing, nor would it be legal in Washington's Fly Fishing Only or Selective Gear Rules waters, as use of an artificial fly is required, and what you are suggesting would be classified as fishing with Bait, even if you were to use a fly rod and fly line to present it.

Please allow me to suggest your reading a book titled Curtis Creek Manifesto by Sheridan Anderson. It is written in a comic-book-like style, but will quickly familiarize one with fly fishing terminology and techniques.
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
AcemajorDecember 7th, 2009, 1:08 pm
olympia washington

great thank you i will be sure to check that out
AcemajorDecember 7th, 2009, 1:08 pm
olympia washington

great thank you i will be sure to check that out
RleePDecember 7th, 2009, 2:09 pm
NW PA - Pennsylvania's Glacial Pothole Wonderland

I don't know if tying a life insect to a hook would work for me with my temperment..