Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > need help identifying ARTIFICIAL flies

ChillmarkApril 11th, 2009, 7:46 am
Posts: 3So the title may sound odd, but hear me out. I'm somewhat new to the sport; I've been fishing a dozen times a year for the past 3 years or so now. I do OK, catching the occasional fish, but mostly I just enjoy being out there. There is one thing, however, that continues to irk me. I check online, or at the local fly shops for what's biting, and the answer I get usually makes no sense. That is to say, I find the names given to flies (and I use the term flies in the artificial sense, not the biological versions) to be completely and utterly perplexing. "they're bitin' on royal wolfs, parachutes, hairs ear and hassenflappers..."

Huh?!?

So say I have a fly sitting in front of me. I've just bought it from the store and I've no idea what it is. Is there a way to identify flies? The artificial ones, of course...the ones with hooks?

I went through my fly box last night and there's a couple in there that I can't tell if they should be fished dry or wet for instance. If there was some sort of cheat sheet however, I would know. Does this sort of thing exist?

Help a brutha' out, pu-LEASE!

Thanks!

TaxonApril 11th, 2009, 8:47 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Chillmark-