Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Winter trout fishing info

Dave1352October 2nd, 2008, 8:47 am
Kenmore n,y,

I am fairly new to fly fishing and i hope to fish as often as possible during the winter.I live in western n,y, and i fish small to medium streams for trout.I have been having some success with dry flies the last couple of months or so,and i was wondering what flies and methods would be the most effective in the winter.This has become such a addiction that i don't think i could stop for a few months.Any suggestions anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated
RleePOctober 2nd, 2008, 1:58 pm
NW PA - Pennsylvania's Glacial Pothole Wonderland

Well, welcome to a pastime that is just about the most fun you can have standing up, as they say...:)

Without getting all windy, here's a few things that come to mind that may be of help in Winter fishing on small to medium waters:

1) Trout activity in all seasons is strongly tied to water temps and the 2 seasons of water temp extremes, winter and summer, will be the times when this factor has the most influence. In the Winter, it pays to look for streams that have strong spring input. These will have the highest water temps in Winter just as they will have the lowest temps in Summer. So, if you know of streams in your area that, for example, have a reputation for being the last to freeze (or never freeze) in the coldest winters, these are likely to be your best bets for winter fishing. Stream selection to optimize (in this case, maximize) water temps is also about common sense things like fishing later in the day when the water temps are at their daily peak. While there are exceptions, you're likely to do better from noon to 4PM than from say, 8AM to noon.