Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Dragonflys Grindstone Lake Wisconsin

Dave_K has attached these 2 pictures to aid in identification. The message is below.
Shown Full Size
Shown Full Size
Dave_KJuly 1st, 2008, 8:05 pm
Posts: 6These dragonflys hatch after the mayflys on Grindstone Lake near Hayward, Wisconsin, and feed on them. These photos were taken June 25, 2008. Cany you identify them? Thanks, .....Dave
GONZOJuly 1st, 2008, 10:40 pm
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

Dave,

I'll take a guess, but I'm not good at dragonfly IDs. The pretty one at the top looks like a gomphid (Clubtail), but I have no idea which one. The less pretty one that is emerging looks an aeshnid (Darner). I'd suggest waiting for another opinion from someone who knows their Anisoptera.
WiflyfisherJuly 2nd, 2008, 4:31 am
Wisconsin

Strange, I took this dragonfly photo on June 12th, 2008 just about 30 miles north of you. Looks like the same bug.

John S.
https://WiFlyFisher.com
Dave_KJuly 2nd, 2008, 8:08 pm
Posts: 6They're actually the same. The one emerging just hadn't filled out yet. They emerge in such large numbers the air is full of them, all around the lake. I watched the nymphs swimming into shore and climbing out on several mornings. I collected a few for bait, and took several very large 'gills and pumpkinseed. It seems as long as the brown drakes are hatching, these are too.
GONZOJuly 3rd, 2008, 12:41 am
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

They're actually the same. The one emerging just hadn't filled out yet.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean, Dave. Are you saying that you think the top photo and the second photo are the same dragonfly species?