Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > floating on the river

JADMarch 31st, 2008, 4:50 pm
Alexandria Pa

When your floating or drifting what does the law require. For New York and Penna. I have a small Waster Master raft and I would like to have every thing ready.
I didn't want to high-jack that other thread.

john

They fasten red (crimson red) wool around a hook, and fix onto the wool two feathers which grow under a cock’s wattles, and which in colour are like wax.
Radcliffe's Fishing from the Earliest Times,
FlybyknightApril 1st, 2008, 11:49 am
Milton, DE

If you have a motor, even if its an electric, the boat needs to be registered.
You need life jackets.
Drift boats under 7 meters are exempt from lighting requirements provided you do not anchor in a channel.
It is a good idea to have an all around light at night so others do not ram you in the dark, and it can get really dark.

Dick
Lightly on the dimpling eddy fling;
the hypocritic fly's unruffled wing.
Thomas Scott
JOHNWApril 1st, 2008, 12:24 pm
Chambersburg, PA

John,
I'll have to check my regs book but I believe you are required to have a liscense or valid launch permit any time you launce a boat (even a belly boat) from any state owned/operated launch or on any state water.
Further you must have an appropriate floatation device for every passenger and I believe children under 12 must wear a PFD at all times.

John

P.S. I think there is a summary of basic boating regs in the book that comes with your fishing liscense, at least for PA.
"old habits are hard to kill once you have gray in your beard" -Old Red Barn
WbranchApril 1st, 2008, 5:41 pm
York & Starlight PA