Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > The Brule River/BattenKill River

BGrnFlyfishJanuary 23rd, 2008, 7:01 pm
Wisconsin

I have the opportunity to fish the Brule river (border between Michigan and N. Wisconsin) a couple of times this year and also the Battenkill in Vermont. I was wondering if I could get some feed back about the rivers or what its like if any of you have ever had the opportunity to fish these rivers.
Seth-Big Green River, WI
Jjlyon01January 23rd, 2008, 7:48 pm
SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse

I live about 5 miles from the Battenkill River on the New York side. I have yet to buy my Vermont license, but I've heard the fishing for Browns and Brooks are good especially toward the headwaters.

I have been fishing the Battenkill for about six years and I have learned a lot about it. There are few wild fish to be had on the New York stretch, but i have caught some in the 16"-18" range. The river is pretty wide and deep in most places, but is easily accessed and waded. We have decent Caddis hatches and mayfly hatches from around mid-May to late-June, and earlier in the season a good blue-wing olive or Adams may be key. You will probably encounter many 9-12 inch fish that the DEC releases periodically through early Spring.

My favorite spot is located at a DEC release point on Route 22 in Salem ( I probably wouldn't inform you of this spot, but everyone knows of it and I don't mind sharing with fellow anglers). Try a green caddis nymph if the water is clear and there is no huge hatch or a dark woolly-bugger stripped fast across the surface if the water is high and murky.

If you need anymore information feel free to get a hold of me or the Orvis Flagship store in Manchester Vermont has a great knowledgeably group of guys there.
"I now walk into the wild"
DanoJanuary 24th, 2008, 2:04 pm
Vanderbilt, Michigan

Interesting....