Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Nymphing set up.

FC54November 8th, 2019, 4:10 pm
Reno NV

Hello fellow fly fisherman, I am relatively new to fly fishing only been a few months. I started Nhymph fishing which is working well but I seem to always find that my top fly constantly gets tangled on the main tippet. My first fly is hung around 9" down and my second is 18" away. Your help and skills would be appreciated. Thanks Fred
WbranchNovember 9th, 2019, 12:30 am
York & Starlight PA

I'm not sure if you are using a dropper rig or two nymphs in a straight line. Dropper set-ups often get tangled. You can try tying a length of tippet onto the bend of the top fly with a clinch knot and then tying the second nymph to the end of that tippet. Also slow the casting stroke a bit to make sure the line has fully straightened out behind you before executing the forward cast so the flies will be in a straight line.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
FC54November 10th, 2019, 6:40 am
Reno NV

Thanks Matt, I'llgive it a try today
MartinlfNovember 13th, 2019, 7:35 am
Palmyra PA