Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Fly Fishing Reel

Nate12April 13th, 2020, 7:58 am

I’m looking at getting a fly reel. I am a beginner and already have a nice 5wt rod. With that being said I’m looking at a fly reel. I like the Orvis Clearwater, but the Clearwater has a large arbor. I heard for the type of fishing I’m doing (trout) a tall and skinny fly reel would be better.

What are your thoughts?

Would you recommend any other type of reel or do you think the Orvis Clearwater would be a good match?

I’m trying to keep the real under $100

Thanks
Jmd123April 13th, 2020, 10:00 am
Oscoda, MI

Check out Cabelas! They have lots of affordable fly fishing gear & I buy & use their stuff. Several reels are available in your price range. They have the more expensive stuff too, so you can get whatever your budget will withstand. Best of luck finding something that works well for you!

Jonathon
No matter how big the one you just caught is, there's always a bigger one out there somewhere...
MartinlfApril 13th, 2020, 6:57 pm
Palmyra PA

Large arbor reels are in style for trout fishing now. They recover line faster than older style (tall and skinny). I fish with a mid arbor reel and it works fine for me, but I've had people tell me I should join the modern age. I think the Clearwater will work fine for you, if that's what you want. As Jonathon says, there are lots and lots of choices under 100.00. Read the reviews, ask around, and make your choice. You might also search this site. We have several threads on fly reels. See the Google search at the top.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
WbranchApril 14th, 2020, 6:42 pm
York & Starlight PA

I kind of like 'em tall and thin rather than wide and large.