Report at a Glance

General RegionWest Central Wisconsin
Specific LocationHwy 72
Time of Dayevening until dark
Fish Caught1 16" brownie

Details and Discussion

FreepowJuly 29th, 2007, 10:12 pm
menomonie, WI

I am new to fly fishing this summer and have been religiously practicing and learning everything I can about technique and the science. I have been to the Rush River about 8 or so times since the end of June and have only caught one fish. The fish are rising and obviously feeding on something. I have thrown every fly I can find that resembles anything I find above the surface of the water. I have thrown small flies and large flies (sorry, I am still learning the fly names). I have thrown ants as well as a variety of caddis and mosquitos. I spent my life trout fishing in Michigan with light tackle and have had much success as a trout fisherman. However, my fly fishing skills are fresh and unrefined at this point making me frustrated. Is there something that I am missing about fly fishing that may have caused me to only catch one fish in all of these trips...or is it something about the Rush River? I can see fish...many of them...but they will not hit my fly. Any insights are greatly appreciated. Thanks to anyone who may read this.
"I fish...because I suspect that men are going along this way for the last time, and I for one don't want to waste the trip..."
SmallstreamJuly 30th, 2007, 5:05 am
State College, PA

you might want to experiment with a beadhead of some sort trailing off of the dry fly, it might increase your chances
MartinlfJuly 30th, 2007, 9:49 am
Palmyra PA