Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Basic entomology for a beginner

FlyCougMay 3rd, 2016, 12:43 pm
Draper, UT

What should i know about fly selection and entomology as a beginner? I feel like I can easily get overwhelmed.

I think I know the difference between mayfly vs caddis vs midge, but i very quickly get confused when someone starts talking about different baedis flies.

I also think I have a grasp on nymph vs emerger vs dry fly.

By the way, I do my fishing on the Provo River, mainly the Lower Provo.
TaxonMay 3rd, 2016, 3:52 pm
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Bryson-

Welcome aboard. Nice first post. Seems to me that you nave a pretty good understanding of aquatic insects for a beginner. You will learn more by asking questions when something is confusing to you.
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
TimCatMay 3rd, 2016, 8:11 pm
Alanson, MI

FlyCoug,

This site is a good start. I am also new to this and I have been going over the aquatic insect encyclopedia section on this site for a few months now. The creator and contributors have thrown some wonderful pics and info up. There are good pictures, descriptions and discussions based on the the different genus and species.

Also, try googling 'hatch charts' for your region to get a good idea on what you may want to look for out on the water, or for what you may want to have in your box next time you go out. They are usually in order by date for when that species or genus is commonly hatching. This helps with sorting through the overwhelming amount of info out there, because you can focus on what you may need to know for your current plans, one species at a time. At least it has helped my understanding... I am still very much a novice.