Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Late-Season Michigan Tips (upper LP)

TimCatAugust 30th, 2015, 11:27 pm
Alanson, MI

Hi all,

I plan on making one last trip up to the northeast lower peninsula region before the trout season ends here in MI. I am a beginner looking for late season tips. I think I'll be on the pigeon, black, and or Canada creek most likely. I plan on doing some blue-lining and dispersed camping. I began fly fishing mid summer here and I really am hooked... got the bug... pun intended (sorry). Anyway, if you guys could throw some tips my way for late season trout fishing. I'd appreciate it much.

After a few google searches, here's what I think I know about late season trout fishing:

-Most likely I'll be dealing with low, clear water, so I should increase leader length... maybe use a finer tippet... which is discouraging because sometimes it takes me quite a while to tie a blood knot with just 5x.

-Most of the big hatches are done, so I should try terrestrial patterns & streamers more.

So, since my fly box is not too full (and usually dwindling due to poor technique), are there any patterns I should look into getting in preparation? Any all-purpose patterns that can mimic a variety of insects/bugs? Hoppers, Adams, buggers/Streamers, & the hopper/dropper method are what I plan on as of now. Any tips or links are much appreciated. Sorry for the rambling post too... Thanks!
"If I'm not going to catch anything, then I 'd rather not catch anything on flies" - Bob Lawless
RogueratAugust 31st, 2015, 10:22 am
TimCat,

Welcome to the forum, another MI Trout-nut!

Your pre-trip research is really good; the only thing I'd add are some attractors (you're right, they serve as all-purpose flies) such as the PMX and Yellow Skunk patterns. Don't sell yourself short on technique and knot-tying stuff- I think everybody on this site would agree that fly-fishing is a life-long learning curve.