Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > HELP! Problems matching the Hatch.

Justin483January 12th, 2015, 9:48 am
Clarkesville GA, USA. (North Georgia)

Hey everyone, I'm brand new to Troutnut.com, BEST site around by the way. Anyways, I'm not entirely new to Fly Fishing, but unlike a lot of others I didn't grow up doing it. Most everything about Fly Fishing is falling into place with me. I've picked it up really quick about a year or so ago. But one thing I can't seem to get down is "Matching the Hatch" in my local Stream. Most times when I go I'm guessing blindly on what Fly to use. Yeah, it gets frustrating. Lol. I know about a lot of the tips and tricks, looking under rocks, spider webs, ect, but I hardly EVER find any insect activity. Are there any other tips, tricks, advise, and so on that anyone else has out there for me about MACHINE THE HATCH??
Winter has been a disaster season for me so far and I'm really hoping to improve my game. Thank you so much for reading this and taking your time to help a "new comer" enthusiast. Trout fishing is LIFE!!!
Feathers5January 12th, 2015, 10:26 am
Posts: 287Welcome to the site. There are many experts here to help, but I'm not one of them.

The first best thing you should do is visit a fly shop that serves the water you will be fishing. Look for stream reports, and people that regulary fish the water, for info on bugs, hatches, and flies. Tell them you are not trying to find out their hot sposts, just a little about what flies might work.
Take some sharp, macro photographs of the bugs in question, and load them on to this site. We have some well-edgeykated entomologists here that are free with their bug knowledge.
Read. Some people read too much, but learning about local waters will help you.
Justin483January 12th, 2015, 10:53 am