Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > im new to fly fishing and looking for any helpful tips and/or suggestions any help?

New2flyJanuary 14th, 2014, 2:09 pm
Bangor, PA

Im new to fly fishing and looking for any help or beginning suggestions...line, leaders, tipits, flies etc...any help greatly appreciated...thanks
GldstrmSamJanuary 14th, 2014, 2:53 pm
Fairbanks, Alaska

Do You have a rod or reel yet? What type of fish are you targeting? Do you know much about the difference between wets/dries/nymphs (types of flies). Do you have a preference as to which type of fly that you would like to use?

These are a couple basic questions that I would need to know to base some of the advice off.

Welcome to the forum!

Sam
There is no greater fan of fly fishing than the worm. ~Patrick F. McManus
New2flyJanuary 14th, 2014, 2:57 pm
Bangor, PA

Sam-yes I do have a rod and reel I bought a 4wt 8'6" combo to start...im targeting PA and NJ trout streams. I do not know much at all just beginning and new to thewhole thing. Thanks

Dennis
MartinlfJanuary 14th, 2014, 4:54 pm
Palmyra PA

Find a good guide or instructor and take a lesson. Let him or her know what you want to learn, and be sure to get some casting instruction. Over time you may find different ways of approaching things by talking with other fishermen or by reading fly fishing magazines and books, but you can save years of trial and error by working with someone knowledgeable when you first start fly-fishing. The Evening Hatch in Lake Harmony has one day schools. I don't know anything about the instructors, but that might be one possibility. You might also ask at Dunkelbergers in Stroudsburg. And you can search Troutnut for topics such as "favorite flies," etc. But beware, you'll find many and perhaps confusing opinions on some topics. Best of luck.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell