Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Lake tactics

StokesOctober 28th, 2013, 4:52 pm
Columbia county,NY

So my home lake,which I've been fishing since 1996 when I got a cabin there.Sylvan lake in Dutchess county,ny has always had various trout,including lake (it goes 140ft deep),brown,rainbows.In fact there was a record brown taken in the '80's,30 some odd lbs.One of the local bait shops has a picture of some type of hybrid taken in the lake sometime in the '80's,shop owner says it isnt a splake,which were stocked at some time long ago,but really doesnt know what it is,but it is the ugliest fish I've ever seen.There is also some type of landlocked salmon,I think kokanee,not sure,but they are the small variety,I think the record is in the 3 lb range.I see alot of what I asume are those on the fishfinder down at the bottom over 90 ft deep.Never heard of one being caught,tho.Catching trout here has always been sporadic,the big draw in this lake is the bass,they are plentiful,and go very big.My best catch was a 23"er taken on my 5wt fly rod back in '98.Sorry,didnt have a camera,so you'll have to take my word for it,best fight ever,dragged my canoe around for over 20 mins before I managed to boat him,and yes,I released him.Anyway,back to the trout.I did spend an entire summer trolling the depths for lakers,using a jury-rigged down rigger,but only managed to get 2 fish,one 17" and one 21" and on consecutive days at around the same depth,about 80ft.I've managed to catch some browns and rainbows,all but one on spinning gear,from 4" to 15".The 4" rainbow was taken on the fly rod,quite by accident,while I was casting from the dock in early spring,trying out a new line,with a fairly large,about a size 12 dry,it was some ten years ago,but I think it was an adams.