Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Best rod for a 10 year old?

RogueratAugust 2nd, 2013, 5:46 pm
My 10-yr old grandson Caleb wants to start fly-fishing, after last winter spent in basic tying lessons followed by a half-dozen trips to the stream with grandpa over spring and early summer. I'm leaning toward an 8-ft medium-fast 5-wt with a 6 wt WF line, hoping this will load the rod more noticeably and make it easier to learn a casting stroke. Coupled with a click-pawl drag reel of medium price I hope this will make a good beginner outfit.
Has anyone gone through the whole process of working with a total novice, from equipment through casting lessons and then time on the river? I don't see this as anywhere near a daunting task; I'm really looking forward to it but want to do things right.

The Roguerat

I Peter 5:7 'Cast your cares upon Him...'

post-script..I returned from a couple trips lately (Little Manistee, then the White- the Michigan version) with the majority of fish caught being Chubs...imagine reading a post on this very quarry(?) when I got caught up on websites etc! By the way, Chubs are suckers for Epheron Leukon and Blue-Winged Olive dries!
MartinlfAugust 2nd, 2013, 11:09 pm
Palmyra PA

I'd think an 8 foot five weight would be just about perfect.

And there are some fine chubs in the Delaware too, if you get over this way. They'll take dry flies just as well as midwest chubs.
"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
CaseyPAugust 3rd, 2013, 4:21 pm
Arlington, VA/ Mercersburg, PA

having recently worked with 10-year-olds at TU Trout-in-the-Classroom releases, and with my lady-friend novices, i offer these (hard-learned!) tips:

small is good. my ladies loved the 6'6" 3wt medium action rod. a 7' 4wt was good too. the 9' 4wt wasn't as successful, being a bit harder for smaller arms and shoulders to manage.