Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Specimen jars/vials for collection

AdirmanApril 21st, 2013, 11:23 am
Monticello, NY

Guys;

I was wondering where I could get some relatively cheap collection jars for collection of mayflies,caddisflies, etc. for my students to study this fall. I am a high-school science teacher and teach a Conservation/Wildlife class focused exclusively on the study of my beloved trout! Also, if anyone could suggest chemicals for preservation of specimens would be great also.

Thanks so much for any input/edvice,

Adirman
CrepuscularApril 21st, 2013, 1:22 pm
Boiling Springs, PA

Glass or plastic?

Try bioquip or US plastics.

Ethanol for preservation
EntomanApril 21st, 2013, 2:04 pm
Northern CA & ID

Ditto Eric's comments.

A cheaper alternative is to simply use old clear film canisters and rubbing alcohol. Most families have these around. The bugs will fade quicker and become more brittle, but this should work fine for the duration of your course.

Another alternative (as biological grade ethanol is neither cheap nor easy to get) is simple Gin or Vodka. For short term use it preserves the colors better and the critters remain more pliable for inspection. The low alcohol content will allow the breakdown of tissue, but if you change out the liquid a couple of times (day 2 and the following week) and keep them refrigerated, you'll had good short term success (to avoid household "gross outs", mine are in a beer refer in the garage). Great secret ingredient for a Dirty Martini too!:)

For longer term storage, nothing beats the small dram glass vials with stopper lids (avoid screw tops) and pure ethanol of at least 70% strength. Some like to pin their specimens but aquatics are too succulent for this IMO.
"It's not that I find fishing so important, it's just that I find all other endeavors of Man equally unimportant... And not nearly as much fun!" Robert Traver, Anatomy of a Fisherman