Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Help to get some specimens of the isopod Caecidotea communis

This topic is about the Sowbug Family Asellidae

Cress Bugs are a common invertabrate in PA spring creeks. They are significant food forms for trout where found in abundance.

There is 1 more specimen...

The Discussion

LeonardoMarch 29th, 2013, 1:22 am
México, D.F

My name is Leonardo García, I am a biologist intern in the National Autonomous University of Mexico and I'm doing my thesis with title "Morphological variation in the genus Caecidotea isopods (Packard, 1871) (Crustacea: Peracarida: Isopoda) of Mexico." Inside the National Collection of Crustacean, Biology Institute (UNAM).

I was wondering if somebody can help me to get some specimens of the specie Caecidotea communis and send them to me to continue with my thesis work. It would help and enrich my study.

Thanks for your attention

Leo
TaxonMarch 29th, 2013, 5:25 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Leo-

I assume you are pursuing an advanced degree in marine biology, as I believe Caecidotea communis to be a marine isopod. As far as I know, folks on this forum would be more likely to be familiar with freshwater isopods.

Maybe I'm missing something here, but wouldn't it have been prudent to made sure you had an adequate source of the critters you were intending to study before embarking on the study? :-)
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
CrepuscularMarch 29th, 2013, 7:32 am
Boiling Springs, PA

Rodger, Caecidotea communis is a freshwater isopod. We have it here in PA. Or maybe I'm missing something here...;)
TaxonMarch 29th, 2013, 10:51 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Hi Eric,

Ah, I stand corrected. Thanks for pointing out the error regarding my belief. :-)
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
TroutnutMarch 29th, 2013, 2:06 pm
Administrator
Bellevue, WA