Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > 55 gallon aquarium tank for raising trout

AdirmanAugust 20th, 2012, 11:30 am
Monticello, NY

Guys;

Was wondering if anybody knows anyone or they themselves may have a 55 gal aquarium tank? I'm a teacher and am trying to start a trout in the class room program for my conservation class.

Any info/help would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks,

Adirman
PaulRobertsAugust 20th, 2012, 12:40 pm
Colorado

Contact TU -Trout Unlimited. They have a trout in the classroom program that has been running for years now. Google it and you'll likely find some sites discussing it.
WestCOAugust 20th, 2012, 11:48 pm
Palisade, CO

Paul are you involved with TU in the Grand Valley? I tried to do an intro to fly fishing deal in my classroom last year, contacted them, and they had absolutely nothing to offer. I'm just wondering if I got them at a bad time or something. I ended up doing good stuff through the DOW but I really wanted TU to get involved so the kids were familiar with it.
...but fishermen I have noticed, they don't care if I'm rich or poor, wearing robes or waders, all they care about is the fish, the river, and the game we play. For fishermen, the only virtues are patience, tolerance, and humility. I like this.
PaulRobertsAugust 21st, 2012, 1:16 am
Colorado

My exp with local TU in FF education was ... not helpful. Different focus really; Too quick to have kids doing manual labor planting willows or stocking fish before they even knew why. Stewardship requires a sense of ownership which requires quality experiences that inspire, with enough boots in the water and rubber on the road to motivate.

I mention TU only bc I know a guy who runs a trout-in-the-classroom program and he used the national TU model directly. I'd pass you on to him but he flat out does not do computers.

Here's the link:
http://www.troutintheclassroom.org/

EntomanAugust 21st, 2012, 2:35 am
Northern CA & ID