Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Pale, or white nymphs.

SayfuDecember 5th, 2011, 10:59 am
Anyone give any credence to the stage between a nymphs instars before a new exoskeleton forms? Quite some years ago now, maybe it was Borger who suggested that nymphs tied to represent this time frame was a very worthwhile endeavor because the nymph is soft, and desirable to trout during this stage.
GooseDecember 5th, 2011, 11:18 am
Posts: 77I've been fly tying and fishing for about 25 years and I've never seen one. I'm sure if it was such a great idea we'd all know about it by now. I turn rocks over every time I go fishing and I haven't run into any either there or in the drift. But I'm no bug expert. Maybe there's something I've missed.
Bruce
FalsiflyDecember 5th, 2011, 12:52 pm
Hayward, WI.

Although it’s difficult to read a trout’s mind I would think that trout find nymphs desirable regardless of stage. But maybe I’m mistaken; I suppose they could be thinking: Boy with all these yummy nymphs available I can be picky. I think today I will dine on my favorites, the soft ones.
Falsifly
When asked what I just caught that monster on I showed him. He put on his magnifiers and said, "I can't believe they can see that."
SayfuDecember 5th, 2011, 2:46 pm
Don't think it is necessarily a trout being picky. They could just easily key on those types nymphs in skeletal transition, and the angler, for one, would be fishing a stage, and fly design few others fish. I know of no one that fishes a nymph in this stage, and am always interested in fishing a fly others haven't fished.
PaulRobertsDecember 5th, 2011, 3:37 pm
Colorado

I've collected and photo'd them. I also remember someone espousing white nymphs for fishing, but don't remember who. Google "white nymphs" and I bet you find a reference.