User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > insect help

The Specimen

The Discussion

HerefishyApril 7th, 2007, 12:37 pm
Staunton Virginia

I'm new to flyfishing and the art/ science of insect identification.
This caddis larvae is also known as a hellgramite- correct? Is a caddis larvae and a caddisfly the same? Are there any simple books out there that will help me get started with realy understanding the food that trout eat?
TroutnutApril 7th, 2007, 1:00 pm
Administrator
Bellevue, WA

Caddisflies / caddis larvae are very different creatures from hellgrammites. Hellgrammites are in a different order, Megaloptera, and you can read about them through this link.

Caddis larvae are one stage of caddisflies. I guess the way we use the terms can be a little confusing. When we say caddisflies, we sometimes just mean the winged adults, but often we're talking about any stage of the critter (larva, pupa, or adult).

To use an SAT-test-like analogy, "caddis larva" is to "caddisfly" as "baby" is to "person."

There are lots of simple books out there, but browsing this site is a good start too.
Jason Neuswanger, Ph.D.
Troutnut and salmonid ecologist
GONZOApril 7th, 2007, 2:43 pm
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

Herefishy-

Gary Borger's Naturals: A Guide to Food Organisms of the Trout might be a good place to start. If you'd like something a little more recent and with an Eastern orientation, Thomas Ames' Hatch Guide for New England Streams is good. Borger's book covers a broader range of trout foods, but Ames' book is more specific and has great photographs.

Jason's right, though, this site is a great place to find information--as long as you're not afraid to ask.

-Gonzo
EarlfishmanApril 12th, 2007, 9:27 am
Posts: 17Your Rhyacophila is R. fuscula, a very common eastern species. Typically call Green Rockworms, this family of Trichoptera are predominantly predatory.

Earl
QuillgordonApril 12th, 2007, 10:53 am
Schuylkill County, PA.

Earl,