Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Must have fly's

Sirhoops23February 16th, 2007, 11:43 am
Bolivar, MO

Ok for anyone out there. Coming from a total novice fly tyier (not novice fly fisherman but novice fly tyier) what are your three must have fly's from following catigories. Dry, nymph, streamer, terestrial and wet? Just looking to see where I should start.
JJ
GONZOFebruary 16th, 2007, 12:08 pm
Site Editor
"Bear Swamp," PA

Hi JJ,

As a general list of relatively simple flies for a novice tier that would be broadly effective in a wide range of situations, I'd recommend the following:

Dry--Elk-Hair Caddis, Stimulator, Compara-dun

Nymph--Gold-Ribbed Hare's Ear, Pheasant Tail, LaFontaine Sparkle Pupa

Streamer--Woolly Bugger, Black-Nose Dace, Muddler Minnow

Terrestrial--Foam Beetle, Foam Ant, Letort Hopper

Wet--Gold-Ribbed Hare's Ear, Little Marryat, Soft-Hackles

Keep in mind that many of the flies listed are more properly considered to be tying "styles" rather than "patterns" (meaning that the size and colors of the materials can be varied to match local hatches and conditions), and that even this rather broad list leaves out some often important categories of trout foods (midges, crustaceans, and caddis larvae, for example). Many suitable substitutions can be made for each fly on this list without detracting from general effectiveness. Hope this helps.

Best,
Gonzo
TroutnutFebruary 16th, 2007, 12:21 pm
Administrator
Bellevue, WA

Ditto what Gonzo said. I would add Royal Wulff to the dry fly category, though. That's probably a product of the small streams with sparse hatches that I fish lately in my area, but it's my go-to fly when I don't have a good reason to fish something else.
Jason Neuswanger, Ph.D.
Troutnut and salmonid ecologist
LittleJFebruary 16th, 2007, 1:08 pm
Hollidaysburg Pa