User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Just what is a fly fishing "Expert"?, Page 3

PaulRobertsOctober 11th, 2011, 2:04 pm
Colorado

Holy Moly Kurt. Phew.....
SayfuOctober 12th, 2011, 3:56 pm
Sayfu is at a point in his life where he can easily start with a false assumption, and pursue it, and embellish it to ad nausium. Then I am an expert at the cover up.
WbranchOctober 12th, 2011, 7:25 pm
York & Starlight PA

Back in the early 1980's I was on the Salmon River - this was just after the ban on snagging with the lead weighted trebles went into effect. However lots of guys just couldn't get over the desire to snag fish so they would put on a big hook with a piece of sponge and 4 - 6 big goonie split shot as big as small grapes and whip it out and reel, and snatch. Well one guy next to me got snagged and kept pulling and pulling. I told him "you better be careful, if that thing ever pulls loose it will come flying straight out and hit you in the face". Well about ten seconds later there was a yelp as the hook and one ounce of split shot came free, hit him square in his right eye, broke the eyeglasses and blood immedaitely started to flow out. He looked at me and with all seriousness says "do you think I should go to a doctor?" Ya think you dumbass!!?? I told him it looked pretty ugly and he'd better convince his friends to quit fishing and take him to some urgent care facility.
Catskill fly fisher for fifty-five years.
Jmd123October 12th, 2011, 7:38 pm
Oscoda, MI

Matt, you should have told him to just keep on fishing, er, I mean SNAGGING..."Naw, it's not THAT bad, the blood will stop spurting out of your eye in a few minutes, and hey, ya still got ONE good eye left!"

Jonathon
No matter how big the one you just caught is, there's always a bigger one out there somewhere...
SayfuOctober 13th, 2011, 9:11 am