Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Just what is a fly fishing "Expert"?, Page 2

MotroutOctober 4th, 2011, 10:17 am
I am an expert. Here are some of my main areas of expertise:
1. Hooking the brush behind me on every single backcast.
2. Setting the hook so hard that I rip the fly out of the trout's mouth and it shoots back and, once again, gets hung up on the brush.
3. Cursing profusely as the big brown trout I just hooked wraps itself around a rootwad and breaks me off.
4. Misjudging the depth of a run as I cross a river on a mid-winter trip, filling up my waders, and promptly freezing to death.
5. Misidentifying any and all hatches.
6. Fishing nymphs when trout are feeding on the surface, and vice versa.
7. Imbedding large streamers in myself and other people.

Fellow troutnuts, I could keep listing ways in which I am a fly fishing expert, but I would be here all day.
"I don't know what fly fishing teaches us, but I think it's something we need to know."-John Gierach
http://fishingintheozarks.blogspot.com/
TaxonOctober 4th, 2011, 11:21 am
Site Editor
Royse City, TX

Motrout-

Perhaps you exaggerate, as it would be rather difficult to be as expert at each of those skills as you seem to profess? :-)
Best regards,
Roger Rohrbeck
www.FlyfishingEntomology.com
MotroutOctober 4th, 2011, 8:41 pm
Perhaps so. But if that's the case I will claim that #4 is my true specialty.

The real definition of an expert fly fisherman is this: Anyone who is NOT me:)
"I don't know what fly fishing teaches us, but I think it's something we need to know."-John Gierach
http://fishingintheozarks.blogspot.com/
CaseyPOctober 4th, 2011, 9:33 pm
Arlington, VA/ Mercersburg, PA

experts on fly fishing are like experts on baseball--a constant work in progress.
"You can observe a lot by watching." Yogi Berra
WestCOOctober 4th, 2011, 10:06 pm
Palisade, CO