Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > u k member

KautoJuly 11th, 2011, 6:20 am
mansfield woodhouse uk

Hi all just signed up,i have been fishing on and off for the last 40 years.I have fished in scotland,wales and my passion is for the wild brown trout as you probably know we get the odd big ones but the majoraty are between 6 to 8 inches a good fish is 12inches.I have also fished the stocked reservoirs over here where the rainbows that are stocked are a hell of a lot bigger.I have also fished in missouri and arkasas about 5 years ago which wasa lot of fun.
TroutnutJuly 11th, 2011, 6:29 am
Administrator
Bellevue, WA

Welcome!
Jason Neuswanger, Ph.D.
Troutnut and salmonid ecologist
PaulRobertsJuly 11th, 2011, 9:56 am
Colorado

Yes, welcome.

Fish size is relative. I tend to fish what I have time for -what's close by; Mostly 7 to 14inch fish: brown, rainbow, brook, cutthroat -in that order by elevation from my door. Again, size is relative. Just LOVE the fishing, but admit I do feel something missing from the day if i don't find a "good one". On some waters that may be a 9inch brookie, on others a 12 inch brown.

Again, welcome. And share some images of your fishing. Take us along.
OldredbarnJuly 11th, 2011, 2:14 pm
Novi, MI

Yes welcome! I'm a big Charles Jardine fan and Hans van Klinken who is fairly popular over your way I hear...You should google Philip Bailey and check out his stuff...He has sent me some very helpful emails and is right in your neck of the woods...Do they have that expression in the UK?

Spence
"Even when my best efforts fail it's a satisfying challenge, and that, after all, is the essence of fly fishing." -Chauncy Lively

"Envy not the man who lives beside the river, but the man the river flows through." Joseph T Heywood
KautoJuly 11th, 2011, 6:52 pm
mansfield woodhouse uk