Troutnut.com Fly Fishing for Trout Home
User Password
or register.
Scientific name search:

> > Your Favorite Hackle Pliers?

MartinlfDecember 9th, 2010, 10:45 pm
Palmyra PA

OK, I couldn't resist. And I'm going to cheat a bit, but I'm interested in hearing what others have to say on this topic:

I have an almost embarrassing fondness for my teardrop hackle pliers. They came into my life when I was just beginning to tie, taking classes with Bob Clouser at the Elizabethtown High School in the evenings. That was about twenty years ago. A few years back I tied a bit of flourescent pink ultra chenille in the loop to keep them from hiding on my cluttered tying table, and they play a little less hard to get most of the time now. Yes, they will break a hackle faster than some versions, but with the right touch they at least don't slip--something I hate when wrapping that final turn on a bug that has already taken too long to tie. I really don't know what I'd do without them, but I get a hint of it whenever I try to tie at John Dunn's tying station at camp, or at my brother-in-law Walt's, over a holiday visit. It can be done, but even simple flies sometimes feel hard to tie without my favorite squeeze.

"He spread them a yard and a half. 'And every one that got away is this big.'"

--Fred Chappell
SlateDrake9December 10th, 2010, 4:42 am
Potter County, PA